Technical Difficulties, Here is the Last Blog post

So once more WordPress deleted m post, but not before it used  hunch of my data posting it to an unknown location.

So here is a much abbreviated version.

We left off in Fernie…

The next day Marcus and Noah took us to see some of the local sights.

image

image

image

image

Thanks again for being so awesome!

So after that we went for a bike ride. Since Pete isn’t here I don’t know where we slept or really the order we stayed anywhere… So I will be brief.

Eventually we made it onto hwy 3A, beautiful ride.

image

Sorry no more pictures, but it was a beautiful ride. So we make it to the end and take the world’s longest free ferry.

image

image

In Nelson we stayed with Nelson. He was great and we chatted with him about bike touring and routes. We took a day off here. I am sorry to say I do not have a single picture from Nelson.

Next up was Castlegar and a big climb.

image

image

image

It was nice to ride down for over an hour.

image

There was a number of days before I took anymore pictures. We climbed the Anarchist summit.

image

Here we met Richard. We stopped and chatted with him for a while.

image

The next day we once again to coast for more than an hour.

image

image

image

image

Time to go up again. On and on we went.

image

image

Sometime later (maybe that day, maybe a couple days) we stopped at this “beach” and spent a couple hours just east of Princeton.

image

image

image

Sadly all good things end and we left for Princeton.

image

While we were at the grocery store a local journalist approached us and asked for a quick interview.

image

Then it was time to climb the last mountain. We took a day off at the top.

image

image

image

Shortly after we left we made it to the to the last summit.

image

It was all downhill to Hope. In Hope we stayed with Peter, who was great and setup a meeting with Rudy.

Rudy has an aquaponics operation. After breakfast Pete and I went for a visit. It is still in the proof of concept stage. They are experimenting with different plants and techniques. They are also using it as a educational tool and to raise awareness about local food.

image

We took it nice and slow today and made it to Abbotsford.

image

While we were outside the grocery store, looking up campsites, Mark and Amber came over and invited us to stay with them for the night. They even cooked us an amazing breakfast. Did I mention they have a hobby farm? They were great!

image

We made it to Vancouver that day, not till about 9. We stayed at my friends place (who was gone). His roommate Carlos was really nice. He was happy to practise his English and we were happy to sleep indoors.

The following night we met up with a friend I hadn’t seen in years. It was great to see Doug and have a few beers!

image

The following night my friends family invited us out for dinner. Lorraine and Peter (my friend Sara’s parents) and Daniel were amazing! They took us to a great restaurant. Afterwards Lorraine and Daniel took us on a tour of Vancouver!

image

image

image

The next morning we flew back to Ontario. Here I am feeling like 3 months went by far too fast, but it feels good to be home.

I would definitely do another bike trip, perhaps with more days off and time to explore.

This will probably be my last post. I have to admit it became a bit of a chore, but I am glad I have this as a record.

2 thoughts on “Technical Difficulties, Here is the Last Blog post

  1. I so enjoyed your blog about your journey, so relieved you made it back home. You’ve no doubt gathered memories to last a lifetime…thank you so much for sharing. I’m a grandmother who always wanted to travel but never did much of it….I lived my dream through you.

Leave a Reply

