A Bump in the Road

So I have been made aware that the last post is empty. I had written, with accompanying pictures, possibly the best post in history. Unfortunately the WordPress app is garbage and often screws up. So we can blame WordPress for that.

Essentially it said we met some great guys in Montreal that let us stay at their place, Justin and Angus. They showed us around and told us about the city and whatnot. Justin knew a lot about the city. Angus took us to get some of the famous Montreal bagels (Fairmont Bakery) on our way out in the morning.

image

The most memorable quote from Quebec was “Levitate the shit out of everything”. It was rainy when we were leaving and we camped here.

image

image

Then we biked in more rain.

image

image

image

Finally we were back in Ontario.

image

We stayed with Pete’s cousin and his wife, Adam and Mary. They had two pretty cool kids, Aoife and Maeve.

image

image

image

image

They even sent us out with some of their eggs!

image

image

The next day we arrived at our friends place in Ottawa.

image

We hadn’t seen these guys for a while (Andrew, Dirk, and Sara), so a few drinks were had.

image

We also got to meet the new addition, Charlie.

image

We also got to see our other friend Dirk, who was in town for a course. I wish I had gotten a picture because his hair is getting crazy.

This is approximately were the last blog ended, before WordPress failed miserably. The original entry was more detailed and probably the best blog post ever written.

We spent two nights in Ottawa and did some bike maintenance. I had some issues with my bike that was going to delay our departure, but Dirk came to the rescue. Thanks again Dirk!

image

image

We left Ottawa and were almost to Arnprior when I hit a bump in the road, literally. Took a pretty bad spill. Luckily it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. An OPP officer happened by and gave me a lift to the hospital, after flagging down someone with a truck to bring my bike. Luckily no broken bones and mostly just some road rash (see below).

image

image

image

image

The doctors tell me I should survive. I sprung for a motel that night. Today after I got my hand xrayed we decided to take a day off, probably a good choice because of the storms moving through Ontario. Rest assured I won’t let a little pain and gore stop me from making it to Vancouver!

Leave a Reply

